1. TOP
  3. Yusaku Kamekura Design Award Winners 1999-2010


Yusaku Kamekura Design Award Winners 1999-2010

  • DATES : Tue. February 22 - Fri. March 25, 2011
  • HOURS : 11:00 a.m.—7:00 p.m. Closed Sundays and holidays. Admission free.

Yusaku Kamekura (1915-1997) was a central figure in setting down the foundations of graphic design in Japan during the postwar era. His legacy encompasses a wealth of acclaimed masterpieces, including his posters created for the 1964 Tokyo Olympics. In 1999, to pay tribute to Mr. Kamekura’s numerous achievements, the Yusaku Kamekura Design Award was established with the founding aim of contributing to the ongoing development of graphic design. This exhibition, the first of its kind, brought together works by the eleven recipients of the Award between 1999 and 2010, including not only their Award-winning graphics but also recent works as well. Also on exhibit were works by the four overseas recipients of the Yusaku Kamekura International Design Award. In all, the exhibition provided a brilliant overview of works representative of graphic design during the previous decade.

Yusaku Kamekura Design Award Winners
1st (1999)—Ikko Tanaka: Poster series Salvatore Ferragamo: The Art of the Shoe and other works
2nd (2000)—Kazumasa Nagai: Posters for solo exhibition Life
3rd (2001)—Kenya Hara: Book design of Paper and Design
4th (2002)—Kashiwa Sato: Posters promoting Smap CD release
5th (2003)—Masayoshi Nakajo: Posters for solo exhibition Mount Fuji: The Incurable Malady of Masayoshi Nakajo
6th (2004)—Kazunari Hattori: Editorial design of Ryuko Tsushin fashion magazine
7th (2005)—Mitsuo Katsui: Posters for the collection of works Visionary Scape
8th (2006)—No recipient
9th (2007)—Shin Matsunaga: Packaging design for ISSIMBOW Katachi-Koh incense
10th (2008)—Taku Satoh: VI, posters and venue design for 21_21 DESIGN SIGHT Exhibition 2: water
11th (2009)—Ryosuke Uehara: Graphic tools for THEATRE PRODUCTS fashion brand
12th (2010)—Katsumi Asaba: Misawa Design 2009 Bauhaus posters for home builder

Yusaku Kamekura International Design Award Winners
1st (2000)—Bruno Monguzzi: Posters for exhibition FRAGILE and Museo Cantonale d’Arte (Lugano, Switzerland)
2nd (2003)—CCCP Laboratories (Dr. Peche and Mademoiselle Rose): Posters promoting performances at Centre Dramatique National Orleans
3rd (2006)—Wieslaw Rosocha: Thou Shall Not Kill poster series
4th (2009)—Vladimir Chaika: Frida Kahlo + Diego Rivera = 100 Years of Love poster

The Yusaku Kamekura Design Awards
Administration and selection of the Awards are carried out jointly by the Japan Graphic Designers Association Inc. (JAGDA), where Mr. Kamekura long served as president starting from the organization’s founding, and the Yusaku Kamekura Design Award Secretariat. The Yusaku Kamekura Design Awards are bestowed annually on the designer whose work or works are deemed most outstanding among those submitted for inclusion in the JAGDA yearbook, Graphic Design in Japan. The Yusaku Kamekura International Design Awards are granted once every three years to the most outstanding works among those submitted for showing at the International Poster Triennial held at the Museum of Modern Art, Toyama.

Creation Gallery G8

Japan Graphic Designers Association Inc.
Yusaku Kamekura Design Award Secretariat

The Niigata Prefectural Museum of Modern Art
The Museum of Modern Art, Toyama